微软 AI 要教全世界学中文?详解 Microsoft Learn Chinese
Share
Click here to close
Click here to close
Subscribe here

微软 AI 要教全世界学中文?详解 Microsoft Learn Chinese

微软 AI 要教全世界学中文?详解 Microsoft Learn Chinese

 

smartphone.png

微软在教大家学外语这件事情上,看来是认真的。

前有微软小英公众号,教微信的用户们学英文;后又推出了一款 Microsoft Learn Chinese 的 App, 要教全世界的同学们学中文。

语言领域的人工智能是2017年硅谷各大公司争相秀技能的重要舞台。Google、Facebook 和亚马逊都相继在这一年里推出了自己的开源神经网络机器翻译框架。不过在年末放大招的微软显得更亲切一点:这次推出的 Microsoft Learn Chinese 并不是帮你做口译、笔译或是交流沟通,而是听你说中文,用人工智能技术判断你想说的是什么,然后再指出可以如何改进。

人工智能的本意是丰富人们的体验,但最近肆虐媒体的报道却让我们对人工智能取代人类的可能性心生恐慌。因此,这款应用的诞生简直就是人工智能领域的一股清流。很好!

 

工作原理

在每个课程中,用户与虚拟教师聊天,而 Micros安装应用之后(目前可通过 App Store 下载),用户可选择初级或中级课程。在初级模式中,你可以学习一些基本中文,例如打招呼和自我介绍。选择中级模式后,你就会遇到更复杂的情景,例如购物或是去餐馆吃饭。 

oft 的人工智能技术会利用语音识别和自然语言处理技术来进行语音和韵律分析。系统会立即为用户提供分数,并给出有关如何改进发音的反馈。例如,系统会高亮显示需要改进的词语,并提供示例音频片段的链接,方便用户学习正确的发音。

Slide1-1.pngSlide2b.png

根据这款应用的简介,所有课程均由经验丰富的教师设计而成,符合汉语水平考试的难度分级。这意味着,用户可以依照非母语人士的标准来评估自己的汉语水平,例如“我达到了汉语水平考试 5 级”。当然了,这并不表示用户通过了由教育部组织的汉语水平考试,但用户能够借此明确自己应该将哪个级别的考试作为目标。

适用人群

Microsoft Learn Chinese 共提供两个级别的课程。无论有没有学过中文,都可以直接开始使用。

世界上说汉语的人超过10 亿,而中国在经济和政治世界舞台上扮演的角色越来越重要,能够用汉语进行简单交流的确是必不可少的技能。 

中国目前的语言环境,对一个外国人来说还不足以做到仅用英语就能一路畅通。更重要的是,即使中国越来越多的人开始能够流利使用英语,如果一个外国人尝试用汉语交流,也会留下极的好印象。比如: 

(好吧,这个例子或许有些极端了。)

汉语教师要失业了吗?

现在,每个人都能随身携带自己的专属汉语老师,这是否意味着汉语教师以后前景黯淡呢?并不是这样。

“我们的应用程序无法取代优秀的汉语教师,”Microsoft 亚洲科研中心首席研究员 Frank Soong 表示,他同时也是负责开发这款应用后台机器学习模型的 Speech Group 的经理。实际上,这款应用相当于教师的助手,可帮助用户练习自己的汉语口语技能,还提供带有虚拟教师的对话界面,用户可随时与其互动。

身为汉语教师,其实不必担心这款应用带来的“威胁”,而是可以在教学过程中充分利用这款应用来改善学生的课业表现。这种做法会提高教师的教学水平。除非你对那些过时的“提记卡”情有独钟,否则,这款应用绝对能帮你大忙。

旗鼓相当的公平竞争

微软在 2017 年 11 月 26 日通过一篇博客“Microsoft’s AI-powered app can help you learn Chinese(Microsoft 的人工智能应用可帮助你学汉语)公布了这款汉语教学应用。同一周晚些时候,“Will China’s Most Popular AI-Powered Language App Replace The Need For Teachers?”(中国最受欢迎的人工智能语言应用是否会取代对教师的需求?)一文出现在了 12 月 5 日的 Fortune.com 上。如果不仔细辨别,你可能会以为这两篇文章介绍的是同一款应用,但其实刚好相反。后者是在说一个付费英语教学软件:流利说 Lingo Champ. 

文章引述了 Lingo Champ 创始人兼前任 Google 员工王羿对这款面向中国用户的人工智能英语学习应用的介绍。目前,这款应用共有超过 5000 万注册用户,他们每月付费 99 元(约 15 美元)使用订阅服务,通过与人工智能教师互动学习英语。 

根据王羿的介绍:“自我们创始以来的五年内,我们收集了世界上最大的由中国人使用的英语语料库,并在此基础上为语言学习者开发了最为准确的语音评估引擎。”

但这会取代英语教师吗?IBM Systems 部门高级副总 Tom Rosamilia 觉得我们大可放心。“我们在医疗方面的研究并不会取代医生,”他表示。“同理,即使是最为强大的语言应用也无法取代教师。” 

无论是 Microsoft Learn Chinese 还是 Lingo Champ 流利说,用户与应用间依靠人工智能技术实现的对话关系看上去都大同小异。这并不是什么阴谋论,只不过是两款基于相似理念和相似需求的应用刚好在同一时间面世。不管怎样,人工智能取代人类这种说法,还仅限于媒体的标题。无论你是学生还是教师,人工智能都只会助你更上一层楼。

Finally, AI That Won’t Make You Feel Obsolete—And Teaches You Chinese Too!

Finally, AI That Won’t Make You Feel Obsolete—And Teaches You Chinese Too!

Finally, AI That Won’t Make You Feel Obsolete—And Teaches You Chinese Too!

Dàjiā hǎo! (大家好; Hi everyone!) Microsoft’s AI language app “Microsoft Learn Chinese” helps you to, well, learn Chinese. Which is not to say it will interpret for you, translate for you, or communicate for you. What it does is listen to your attempts at speaking Chinese, use Artificial Intelligence to figure out what you’re trying to say, and point out how you can improve. It doesn’t replace you. It makes you better!

I can’t help but sound excited, because my enthusiasm is genuine. You see, the promise of AI was supposedly to enrich the human experience, but recently all we’ve been hearing from the media are reports of AI taking our place or making us obsolete. So the news of this app came as a breath of fresh air. Hěn hǎo! (很好; Nice!)

How the app works

After installing the app (currently available through the Apple App Store), the user chooses either the Beginner or Intermediate course to proceed. In Beginner mode, you learn the basics like greetings and introducing yourself. Choose Intermediate mode, and you’ll be given more complicated situations such as shopping or going to a restaurant. 

In each lesson, the user chats with a virtual teacher while Microsoft’s AI technology kicks in with speech recognition and natural language processing (NLP) to apply phonetic and prosodic analysis. The user is instantly presented with a score, together with feedback on how to improve pronunciation. These include highlighting the words that need improvement, and links to sample audio clips so the user can check the correct pronunciation.

Microsoft Learn Chinese app - Beginner Course menu screens

Microsoft Learn Chinese app - Intermediate Course menu screens

According to the app profile, the courses are designed by experienced teachers and aligned with the HSK (Hànyǔ Shuǐpíng Kǎoshì, or Chinese Standard Exam) difficulty classification. This means users will be able to state their level of Mandarin Chinese proficiency using the standard measure for non-native speakers—like “I’m level HSK5.” This, of course, is not the same as actually taking the exam administered by the Ministry of Education, but it will give users a good idea about which level of exam they should shoot for. 

Who is it for?

Lessons are available at two proficiency levels so you can start using the app whether you have previous experience or not.

When one considers that there are over a billion Mandarin Chinese speakers in the world, coupled with China’s increasing importance on the global scene both economically and politically, it really makes sense to be able to converse at some level in that language. 

If you plan on visiting China on business, you can't automatically assume that the average guy on the street can give you directions in English. What’s more, even if your Chinese associates are fluent in English, making any effort to communicate with them in their language will reflect favorably on you.

(Okay, maybe this was an extreme example.)

Bad news for teachers?

So now that everybody can have their own personal Mandarin Chinese teachers in their own pockets, does this cast a shadow over the future of real-life human teachers? Not really.

“Our application isn’t a replacement for good human teachers,” explains Frank Soong, Principal Researcher at Microsoft Research Asia, and Manager of the Speech Group that developed the machine learning models that power the app. Rather, it’s a teacher’s assistant that can help people practice their Mandarin speaking skills outside of the classroom, since it has a conversational interface with a virtual teacher the user can interact with at any time.

If you are a teacher of Mandarin Chinese, instead of feeling threatened by the app, you can leverage it as part of your curriculum to improve student performance. That, in turn, makes you more productive as a teacher. Unless you love those old-fashioned flashcards, this app is good news.

Turnabout is fair play

Microsoft let us know about their Mandarin-teaching app in their blog post, “Microsoft’s AI-powered app can help you learn Chinese” published on November 26, 2017. Later that same week, “Will China’s Most Popular AI-Powered Language App Replace The Need For Teachers?” appeared on Fortune.com. You may assume they’re talking about the same thing, but it’s the other way around.

The Fortune article features Wang Yi, founder of Lingo Champ and a former Googler, talking about his AI-powered English-teaching app made for Chinese users. Currently there are over 50 million registered users for their 99 RMB (USD 15) per month app, learning English by interacting with an AI teacher. 

“In the five years since our founding, we’ve collected the world’s largest corpus of the English language as spoken by Chinese people, which has helped us build the most accurate speech evaluation engine for language learners,” according to Wang.

But will it replace human teachers? Here we have a reassuring word from Tom Rosamilia, Senior Vice President at IBM Systems. “The work we are doing in healthcare won’t replace the doctor,” he says. “Just as I don’t think we will replace teachers even with outstanding language apps.”

 

In both the cases of Microsoft Learn Chinese and Lingo Champ, the AI-driven conversational relationship between user and app seems quite similar. No conspiracy theory, just uncanny timing that brought these two apps into the world based on similar ideas and similar demand. Either way, rest assured that AI is not out to get you. It’s being leveraged to make you, whether you’re the student or the teacher, even better.


If you have plans to do business in or with China, or would like to see some examples of content localization into Chinese, please check out the Moravia Chinese Blog here or our Sina Weibo page here.