印尼营销:速度与细分是关键
Share
Click here to close
Click here to close
Subscribe here

印尼营销:速度与细分是关键

印尼营销:速度与细分是关键

marketing to Indonesia.jpg

17,000 个岛屿,700 种语言和方言,300 个民族。这就是印度尼西亚的现状。无论在地理环境、民族还是语言方面,这个国家都丰富多样,营销之道注定充满复杂的变数。

过去,只要有强大可靠的分销网络和电视广告,就一定能在印度尼西亚市场大获成功。如今,时代早已不同。如今的印尼用户在与品牌互动时,会期待更为精细的互动式关系。全球不少社交媒体上都能看到印尼用户活跃的身影,他们也会成为心仪品牌的忠实拥趸。据 Millward Brown 报告称,29% 的印尼消费者愿意向朋友和家人推荐自己信赖的品牌。因此,您一定要和印尼消费者“搞好”关系!

冉冉升起的电子商务超级新星

在这个岛屿遍地的国家里,电子市场份额预计将于 2020 年达到 1300 亿美元,仅次于中国和印度。一切天时地利人和都使得这个国家成为倚重移动设备的国家,有超过 70% 的在线流量源自移动设备。

电子商务新兴企业遍地开花,吸引了大量投资。例如,aCommerce 和 HappyFresh 最近均吸引了多达 1000 万美元的资金。Tokopedia 是一个在线市场平台,该公司从 Softbank 和 Sequoia Capital 获得了高达 1 亿美元的投资。

当然,印尼电子商务要真正立足世界,就必须消除 bayar di tampat(现金交付)的付款方式。

简化付款方式是关键所在

无论是金融科技还是传统银行业,都可大展宏图。目前,该国不到 40% 的人员使用银行业务。尽管如此,该国最有价值的前 50 个品牌中,银行品牌占到了 24%,总额接近 280 亿美元。这表示金融服务公司拥有巨大潜力,但他们需要加快行动速度。

电信运营商开始打造移动金融服务,这些服务最初仅仅用于汇款,解决非银行类企业的一大痛点,可能最终会发展为提供全方位的移动银行服务,在初期阶段的市场,这一现象其实非常常见。

对于奢侈品等行业,仍然主要依赖线下销售

尽管互联网普及率和电子商务飞速发展,实体店零售渠道仍然是奢侈品行业的主要销售方式。尽管部分城市消费者已经开始在线购买一些非奢侈品类别的服装、鞋子、美容产品、个人护理产品和个人配饰,但他们对奢侈品在线零售商这一购买渠道仍然信心不足。

热衷聊天的 BlackBerry 国度

印尼用户是世界上最为活跃的即时通讯和聊天应用用户之一,每部智能手机平均安装了 4.2 个即时通讯应用。即时通讯应用同样也是他们日常行为的重要组成部分。约 97% 的印尼移动用户每天会多次使用即时通讯应用,39% 的用户将即时通讯应用作为主要的移动通讯渠道,而不是短信、社交网络、语音消息和电子邮件。

印尼最流行的聊天应用仍然是 BlackBerry Messenger,共有超过 5500 万每月活跃用户。这个岛屿遍布的国家算得上这家加拿大手机制造商最为成功的市场了。黑莓设备本身已经不再是印尼用户的主流设备,但他们依然热衷于使用这款即时通讯应用,并通过这款应用与自己的各组好友保持联络。不仅年轻人喜欢这款应用,公司和职业人士也非常信赖这一安全的生态系统。

有趣的是,印尼和黑莓彼此都非常有好感:2011 年,黑莓公司发售了 Blackberry Bellagio,并选择印尼作为全球首发地。黑莓公司开展了一次促销活动,承诺前 1,000 名使用信用卡付款的用户将获得五折优惠。结果,数千名用户在活动开始前大排长龙,最后甚至引发了踩踏事件。

社交媒体和短片大获全胜

社交媒体广告宣传在这个国家取得了非常好的效果,使之成为了 Facebook、YouTube, and 和 Twitter 的重要市场。Facebook 还推出了 Creative Accelerator,该计划可帮助各个品牌在类似印尼这样高速发展的国家打造广告宣传活动。

2014 年底,日本即时通讯应用 Line 在这个国家尝试了一种新鲜的营销方式:发布了一段 10 分钟的迷你剧视频,由著名的印尼演员出演。这段视频旋即火遍整个网络,共获得了 500 万次观看,而 Line 也随之成为印尼家喻户晓的品牌。 

 

Line 的成功经验再次证明了在印尼使用视频营销的重要性,但由于数据流量比较昂贵,印尼用户通常不喜欢观看时间较长的视频。因此,必须将视频缩短到 10-15 秒,并且最好在视频播放前展示广告内容。

 

本地化和规则

麦肯锡的一份报告称,印尼用户非常具有品牌意识,但通常对品牌所有者知之甚少。尽管 60% 的消费者都更倾向于购买本地品牌,但他们并不知道雀巢不是印尼本土公司。雀巢的本地化做得非常棒,以至于很多用户都以为这是本土品牌。这就是本地化的强大力量。

Line 的本地化版本贴图已经在印尼形成了单独的产业,相对比较受欢迎的贴图每天可达到 2000 万张的销量。

与世界各地新兴市场的消费者一样,如今的印尼消费者比以往更加“精明”。与其他东南亚市场的另一个相似之处是,他们更倾向于选择本土或地区应用。这并不代表他们不知道或是不愿意接受其他国家或地区的品牌。不过,显而易见的是,这些品牌需要更加努力,更深入地了解当地文化和市场。

Marketing to Indonesia: Fast and Fragmented Are the Rules of the Game
Share
Click here to close
Click here to close
Subscribe here

Marketing to Indonesia: Fast and Fragmented Are the Rules of the Game

Marketing to Indonesia: Fast and Fragmented Are the Rules of the Game

Jakarta City

17,000 islands, 700 languages and dialects, 300 ethnicities. That’s Indonesia for you. The country’s geography and ethnic and linguistic diversity should give you some inkling about the complexity of marketing there.

It used to be that a strong distribution network and ads on TV would ensure success in Indonesia’s markets. Not so any more. Indonesians expect a more nuanced and interactive relationship when they engage with brands. They have some of the most active communities on social media in the world, and can be fierce advocates for the brands they fall in love with. A Millward Brown report cites that 29% of Indonesian consumers as willing to recommend a brand to friends and family. You definitely want to be in good favor with your Indonesian buyer!

Rising e-commerce superstar

This archipelago nation’s e-market is set to reach $130 billion by 2020, placing it directly after China and India. Everything is coming together to take it to this position: it’s already a mobile-first country, with more than 70% of online traffic originating from mobile devices.

E-commerce startups are sprouting all over the place and attracting solid investments: aCommerce and HappyFresh are among the recent ones to attract upwards of $10 million in funding. Tokopedia, an online marketplace, raised an impressive $100 million led by Softbank and Sequoia Capital.

Of course, for Indonesian e-commerce to truly come into its own, bayar di tampat (cash-on-delivery) must go.

Making payments easier will be key

And therein lies the opportunity for fintech as well as the old guard. Currently, less than 40% of the country’s population is banking. And yet, banks constitute 24% of the nation’s top 50 most valuable brands, and make nearly $28 billion combined. This indicates a huge potential for financial services companies, but they will need to move fast.

Common in early-stage markets, telecom operators have started to disrupt the financial services sector by creating mobile money services that initially target remittance, a prevalent pain point among those not banking, and could eventually offer a full range of mobile banking services.

For some sectors like luxury, it’s still largely offline sales

Despite the rapid internet penetration and growing e-commerce scene, store-based retail channels continue to dominate distribution within the luxury goods industry. Although some urban consumers have started to make small online purchases in categories such as non-luxury clothing, footwear, beauty, personal care, and some personal accessories, they still have low confidence when purchasing luxury goods through online retailers.

Quite a chatty, Blackberry country

Indonesians are some of the most active users of messaging and chat apps in the world, with an average of 4.2 messaging apps installed on their smartphones. Messaging apps are also a significant part of their everyday behavior. About 97% of mobile users in Indonesia access messaging apps multiple times per day, and 39% prefer them as their main channel of mobile communication over SMS, social networking, voice messages, and emails.

The most popular chat app in Indonesia remains the BlackBerry Messenger, with over 55 million monthly active users — perhaps the sole island (or shall we say archipelago?) of victory for the Canada-based handset maker. The device itself is no longer popular with Indonesians, but they have remained loyal to the messaging app and the curated groups of friends they use it to connect with. And it’s not just young people who use this app, but also companies and professionals who trust in its secure ecosystem.

It turns out Indonesia and BlackBerry have always had a thing for each other: in 2011, the company released its Blackberry Bellagio and chose Indonesia as the first nation in the world to sell it. The company ran a promotion, which promised a 50% discount for the first 1,000 people to pay with a credit card. As a result, thousands of people queued up before the event even started and eventually there was a stampede-like situation.

Social and (short) videos are winners

Social media campaigns are hugely effective in the country, making it an important market for Facebook, YouTube, and Twitter. Facebook even launched its Creative Accelerator, a program designed to help brands create ad campaigns in high-growth countries such as Indonesia.

At the end of 2014, Japanese messaging app Line tried something new for its marketing push in the country: it launched a 10-minute mini-drama video featuring famous Indonesian actors. The clip went viral and clocked five million views, and Line became a household name in the country.

Line’s experience reinforces the criticality of video to marketing in the country, but Indonesians usually do not like to watch longer videos because of data costs. Hence, videos must be cut down to 10-15 seconds and the message is best frontloaded.

Localize and rule

A McKinsey report states that Indonesians are highly brand-conscious, yet often aren’t aware of brand ownership. While 60% of consumers prefer local brands, they didn’t know Nestle was not an Indonesian company. Nestle had localized so well that people simply assumed it was a local brand. That’s the power of localization done well.

Line’s localized stickers have now spawned an industry on their own in Indonesia, with a relatively successful sticker series able to sell 20 million stickers per day.

 

Indonesian consumers of today, like their peers in emerging markets all over the world, are far savvier than before. And, as is also common in Southeast Asian markets, they tend to gravitate towards local or regional apps. It doesn’t mean they are any less aware of or open to brands from elsewhere, but certainly these brands have to work harder to develop a better understanding of the culture and market.

{{cta(‘96321397-95b5-4ce2-b6e8-659aa9125aa8’)}}

 

Comments