情何以堪的译员们
Share
Click here to close
Click here to close
Subscribe here

情何以堪的译员们

情何以堪的译员们

在如今日新月异的语言服务领域,各种新的翻译技术不断涌现,例如神经机器翻译 (NMT)、自适应机器翻译、前瞻性思维、高级匹配、零样本翻等等。这些新技术已逐渐深入到日常的翻译工作中,改变着译员的工作方式。他们是如何看待新技术的?是否对此感到恐慌呢?他们是否在使用机器翻译?如果是的话,通常哪些情况下会对哪些内容使用机器翻译呢?他们的工作效率有何变化?

带着这些疑问,我给一位经验丰富的资深译员发了一封电子邮件,希望能了解一下翻译技术给他的工作带来了哪些改变。而他的回答颇耐人寻味,总结起来可分为以下几点:

挣钱越来越难了

随着机器翻译质量的提高,客户给译员支付报酬的方式也发生了变化。常见的流程是这样的:首先,将翻译记忆库应用到翻译文本上;然后,通过机器翻译对其余的内容进行预翻译。以前,由于机器翻译质量很差,因此机器翻译的内容只作为参考建议,译员可以采用它们,也可以对其置之不理。而客户会根据实际字数,支付全额款项。

但是后来由于机器翻译的质量提高了,客户只会支付约 60% 的费用,理由是译者“需要做的工作变少了”。

(使用机器翻译并不一定会减少工作量:许多译员都认为,译后编辑花的时间与完全人工翻译花的时间一样长。关于孰是孰非的更多信息,请参阅我们的博文专家辟谣:机器翻译译后编辑的迷思。)

跟踪变成了难题

由于 CAT 工具、文件和 TM 都转移到了云端,因此工作会动态分配给多名译员。因此,我们就很难跟踪给谁分配了多少重复字数,每个人的折算数据又是怎样的。一名译员可能分到了多数重复字段,而另一名译员可能分到的都是新字。很多时候,译员都无法预估他们要翻译多少净字数。现在,费用和时间安排更难以估算,而 LSP 不得不分析大量字数数据,才能把这些都算清楚。

质量仍然时好时坏

机器翻译的质量的确提高了,但仍有可能出现很容易被忽视的潜在错误。例如,如果机器翻译引擎漏掉了一个词,例如“no”,或是未能区分“can”和“can’t”,可能就无法正确传达这个句子的否定意思。(单个词的错误在神经机器翻译引擎中更常见。)

此外,翻译时还会出现术语使用不一致的情况。机器翻译引擎可能无法理解应该在哪些语境下应用某个领域特有的术语,或是干脆忽略客户提供的术语。此外,译员可能需要在翻译过程中更正某个术语,但由于更正并未在引擎中实施,因此这名译员就得重复进行更正。

最后,机器翻译的质量可能很差。如果机器翻译的输出内容质量不佳,而译后编辑无法将翻译质量提高到理想的质量水准,可能最后还不如直接让资深的专业译员从头开始翻译会更省时间,风险也更小。

工具的确带来了变化,但不一定是好的变化

不停地更换工具以及频繁更新版本会带来新的问题。对专业译员来说,工作效率至关重要。时间真的就是钱。工具和环境需要顺畅运转。哪怕只是改变了一个热键,也会遭致很多译员的强烈不满。翻译工作中应该避免使用测试版本,或是立即采用全新的应用。此类应用通常都包含许多缺陷,很可能会导致数据丢失。

这些观点听起来非常消极,因此译员排斥技术进步也是情有可原的(本文的标题就是这个意思)。资深译员可能会采取不同的态度,具体取决于他们的语言、专业领域和性格;尽管如此,他们对上述顾虑肯定会深有同感。

扩大讨论范围

为了获取更多译员对机器翻译和 CAT 工具改进所持的态度,我们对翻译服务供应商、SLV、MLV 和自由职业译者进行了一项匿名问卷调查。

你们猜怎么着?大家对机器翻译和工具的观点可谓是众说纷纭。您或许也猜到了,译员的经验与接受度之间也存在着内在联系。刚入行的年轻译员更愿意使用机器翻译来提高自己的工作效率,甚至还很喜欢这样做。而资深译员可能会倾向于“墨守成规”,抵制新工具。

除此之外,我们还发现了更多新的观点。我知道,我说了这么多,您可能觉得我有卖弄的嫌疑。但我不打算仅仅罗列一些数据,而是希望行业中不同的利益相关者借此机会对调查结果加以讨论和分析。

The Reluctant Translator

The Reluctant Translator

The Reluctant Translator

The Reluctant Translator

Neural Machine Translation (NMT), Adaptive MT, Forward-Thinking, Advanced Leveraging, Zero Shot Translation…all these new technologies made me wonder what our translators are thinking. They are the ones who should be most concerned about tools that can impact their daily work. Are they using MT? If so, where and when? How is their productivity impacted?

So, I sent an email to my friend—a long-time, experienced translator—with my questions about how his world has changed thanks to translation technology. His response brought up a lot of interesting points.

Payment is tricky

Payment to translators has evolved along with the quality of MT. The typical process is this: first, Translation Memory is applied to the text; then, remaining content is sent through MT. In the old days, when the quality of MT wasn’t great, translators used the machine translated content as a suggestion; they could take it or leave it. As a result, they were paid in full for those words.

But since then, the quality of MT has improved, and these segments are now only paid at about 60% because the translator “has less work to do”.

(It may or may not actually be less work to translate using MT: many translators consider post-editing to take just as long as full human translation. For more on this debate, check out our blog post MT Post-editing Myths Debunked by an Expert.)

Tracking is difficult

With CAT tools, files, and TMs moving into the cloud, work is dynamically spread across multiple translators. So, tracking who gets assigned how many repetitions and what the leverage looks like per person becomes difficult. One translator may be getting the majority of the repetitions, while another may have to do all the translation from scratch. Quite often, translators can’t anticipate how many net words they have to translate. Payments and schedules are now tricky to estimate, and LSPs have to sift through a lot more wordcount data to figure it all out.

Quality is still variable

MT quality has improved, but there are still substantial errors which can be easily overlooked. For example, a sentence may not be properly negated when the MT engine misses a single word such as ‘no’ or does not distinguish between ‘can’ and ‘can’t’. (Single-word errors are even more common with Neural MT engines.)

There are problems with consistent use of terminology also. It’s possible that an MT engine might not understand when to apply domain-specific terminology, or may ignore a given glossary altogether. Also, a translator may need to correct terminology during a job, but that correction isn’t implemented in the engine; the translator has to remember to make that correction over and over.

And lastly, MT might not be good enough at all. If MT outputs are not great, and post-editing can’t bring the translation up to the desired quality level, a professional and experienced translator ends up translating the task from scratch faster and with less risk.

Tools change…and not always for the better

Constantly changing tools and frequent version updates are another problem. Productivity is a very important factor for a professional translator. Time really is money. The tools and environment need to work like a well-oiled machine. Just a simple change of a hotkey will result in a lot of cursing and potentially broken keyboards. Beta versions or even adopting a brand-new release of an application right away should be avoided. These are usually buggy and may easily result in a loss of data.

This all sounds quite negative, and it’s understandable that translators may feel reluctant about technical progress (hence the title of this post). Seasoned translators may have a different attitude, depending on their languages, domain, and personality, but regardless, they will definitely be able to relate to these concerns.

Expanding the discussion

To get broad opinions on translator attitudes towards MT and CAT tool improvements, we conducted an anonymous survey among our translation suppliers, SLVs, MLVs, and freelancers.

Guess what? There is quite a mix of opinions about MT and tools. And as you may have guessed, there is also a correlation between experience and acceptance. Younger folks, new to the translator profession, are more likely use MT to increase their productivity—and even enjoy doing so. More veteran professionals may be a bit more, shall we say, stuck in the mud.

But we found much more. I’m teasing you with what I’ve already described here, I know. But I’m not going to throw the data out there; rather, I want to give various stakeholders from the industry the chance to discuss and analyze the findings.

And on what better platform than LocWorld?

On November 3rd at LocWorld35, I will meet with Spence Green (CEO and co-founder of Lilt), Jost Zetzsche (Translator and Consultant at International Writers’ Group), and Paola Estrella (NLP, MT, and PE expert at Moravia) in Santa Clara for a panel discussion. We will review the main findings of our survey, discuss options to address translator concerns, and brainstorm how to increase acceptance of MT and tool improvements.

If you can’t join us, please look out for a future blog post where I’ll summarize our findings.

 

Comments