专家访谈:数字化营销趋势预测
Share
Click here to close
Click here to close
Subscribe here

专家访谈:数字化营销趋势预测

专家访谈:数字化营销趋势预测

Marketing Board Strategy

我们有幸采访到了 Dan Baack 教授(博士)本人。他是丹佛大学市场营销专业的项目主任,同时也是数字化广告、品牌管理和国际营销等领域的资深专家。

市场营销经理 Lee Densmer 和技术经理 Jim Compton 就品牌管理、社交媒体、超个性化和人工智能等问题向 Dan 提出了不少问题。

Lee: 企业想开拓新市场,吸引用户注意力并培养客户忠诚度,就必须要塑造一个强大的品牌。我们想了解一下,应该通过怎样的方式针对国外市场对品牌做出调整,同时又不会丢掉品牌的核心精髓。

Dan: 通过很多例子都能看出,不少公司在这方面举步维艰,还有很多公司则取得了不错的成效。

麦当劳就是一个很好的例子。一提到麦当劳,我们脑海中就会浮现出五颜六色的画面,还有蠢萌的小丑,等等,它的这一品牌形象已经深入人心。此外,我们还会联想到就餐氛围。通常而言,麦当劳在国外会比在美国更“高大上”一些,但整体氛围是还非常相似的。在许多新兴市场,很多人经常选择麦当劳作为第一次约会的地点。此外,物美价廉、快捷便利也是麦当劳享誉全球的特点。

因此,麦当劳会始终保留多彩配色和小丑形象,当然还有可口可乐或炸薯条等核心产品。他们会保留一些最为重要的核心产品要素,同时也会根据本地市场的需求灵活调整许多产品。例如:

菲律宾人非常喜欢吃浇番茄酱的意面,因此麦当劳在菲律宾销售的意面就是这种风格。在中国台湾,麦当劳会销售米饭、粟米汤等极具本地特色的食物。他们在德国销售啤酒,在法国销售葡萄酒。

也就是说,麦当劳会根据当地审美和口味做出调整,但不会丢失品牌的核心精髓。对日本儿童开展的一项调查显示,他们认为麦当劳是一家本土公司。在麦当劳的灵活调整下,他们融入了本地特征,同时还保留了相同的全球品牌特点。

Lee: 进军全球市场时,如果未能保留核心品牌精髓,会出现怎样的情况?显然,这并非易事,许多企业都在开拓全球市场时犯过这方面的错误。

Dan: 经典的例子就是肯德基在中国的拓展方式。他们的受欢迎程度呈爆炸式增长,但因炸鸡质量问题而备受争议。他们开始全球采购,但仍然质量问题不断。这损害了他们在中国的品牌形象。

因此,他们放慢了扩张速度,潜心解决鸡肉问题,最终成功做出了符合其品牌核心精髓的美味炸鸡,同时提供了便捷的点餐服务,随后,问题就迎刃而解了。现在他们在这个方面没有任何问题。中国的肯德基店面数量比美国还要多。肯德基是中国内地规模最大的快餐连锁店。

Jim: 据我所知,您正在撰写第二版教材。第一版已经在 2013 年出版。从那之后,世界上发生了哪些新变化?这些变化给您在新版教材中介绍的内容又带来了哪些影响?

Dan: 数字化时代发生了根本性的变化。就拿社交媒体来说吧,四五十岁的人才用 Facebook,我即将要带的本科生连 Twitter 都不用。Snapchat 和其他新兴平台正在变得越来越重要。企业一定要关注这些平台。

此外,在全球新兴市场中,移动活动和数据用量正在持续高攀。昨天我刚好在看麦肯锡报告,上面显示了数据用量的增长情况,探讨了这种现象会给企业带来哪些影响。对营销人士来说,这会影响消费者接触信息和消费产品的方式。

此外,移动设备将成为 35 岁及以下人群的主要使用工具,并且他们越来越多地通过移动设备访问您的网站。

最后,消费增长不再局限于中国和印度。我 12 月的时候去了乌干达和卢旺达。在非洲,特别是撒哈拉以南非洲,那些经济和政治较为稳定的国家/地区正在飞速发展。据 Goldman Sachs 预测,未来十年内,非洲将成为发展速度最快的大陆。

Jim: 您对“超个性化”这一概念怎么看?对于营销细分可以细致到个人的这种理念又有什么看法?您觉得这是真正的趋势和可能性吗?在这样的情况下,全球营销的实践做法又会发生怎样的变化?

Dan: 我觉得“微定位”这个概念非常有趣。现在出现了定位到个人的营销,这与商家收集到的海量个人数据密不可分,随着数据量越来越大,定位到个人的营销成本降低,那么未来,商家对个人开展营销攻势当然就不是痴人说梦了。

许多人都说,总有一天,用户会收到完全根据个人情况调整的个性化信息。一直以来,我都觉得这实际上是针对 10,000 个非常相似的个人投放了 10,000 条看似相同的信息,但个人化的确在逐渐发生。
当然,如果说“超个人”现象现在就在发生,那的确是言过其实了。但我觉得这的确是未来的一个趋势。

Lee: 我们对人工智能非常感兴趣,我也看到过文章中认为,人工智能可帮助我们实现微定位。您对此有何看法?

Dan: 我们的 MBA 学生与康卡斯特公司一起完成了一个与其人工智能工作相关的项目。我认为人工智能非常强大,同时也有点“吓人”。你说到了定位到个人的营销成本,以及数据量激增,这两个方面最终会重合。

人工智能最有可能导致这两个方面发生重合,这是因为人工智能既可以用于输入,也可以用于输出;可以跟踪所有消费数据、所有用户在线活动数据,还能实现地理位置定位,而所有这些数据都会输入到人工智能平台中。人工智能将成为改善客户体验的关键所在,这也是康卡斯特投入大量人力物力开发人工智能的原因。康卡斯特深知,他们需要填补客户体验方面的空白。而人工智能正是实现这一目标的不二法宝。我觉得,市场营销的方方面面很快都会受到人工智能的影响。

但“人工智能”本身是一个时髦术语,如果仅停留在词语表面,会成为市场营销的一个大问题。许多公司都只是在跟风,并不清楚这个词的真正含义,也不在乎成本。

 

Moravia 还会继续与 Dan 和其他行业专家就全球数字化营销开展讨论,敬请关注。

 

点击此处详细了解 Dan Baack,还可以点击此处了解关于他所著书籍的信息。

baack-daniel-214x300

Trends and Predictions in Digital Marketing: Interview with an Expert

Trends and Predictions in Digital Marketing: Interview with an Expert

Trends and Predictions in Digital Marketing: Interview with an Expert Marketing Board Strategy

We had the chance to sit down with Professor Dan Baack, PhD. He’s the Program Director in the Department of Marketing at the University of Denver and an expert in digital advertising, brand management, and international marketing.

Lee Densmer, Marketing Manager, and Jim Compton, Technology Manager, asked Dan about brand management, social media, hyper-personalization, and AI.

Lee: A strong brand is the key to sparking interest in a new locale and in driving customer loyalty. We’re interested in how you adapt a brand for a foreign market without destroying its essence.

Dan: There are lots of good examples of companies who’ve struggled with that and others that have really succeeded.

McDonald’s is a great example. If you think about their overall brand image, it’s the colors, the silly clown, and so on. You also think of ambiance; often in a foreign context McDonald’s is even a little more upscale than in the US, but the ambiance is very similar. In a lot of emerging markets McDonalds is a really common place for a first date. They’re also known worldwide for convenience and for quality food at a reasonable price.

So, they keep those colors and that clown, and also offer core products like Coca-Cola or french fries. They’ve established what they’re going to keep to support their core brand essence, but they adapt a lot of their product offerings to the local market. Examples:

The Philippines are known for a very ketchup-y kind of spaghetti, and McDonald’s offers that there. In Taiwan, they offer rice and corn soup, things that are very localized. In Germany they have beer; in France they have wine.

So, they adapt to local aesthetics, local tastes, but they don’t lose track of their core brand essence. There was a survey of children in Japan—they thought McDonald’s was a local company. They adapt enough to be part of the local consumption but they’re keeping that same brand globally.

Lee: What do you do if you mess up that core brand essence when you go global? It’s not easy, and a lot of businesses get it wrong when they try to go global.

Dan: A classic example of that is KFC in China. They were exploding in terms of popularity but they were struggling to get chicken of good quality. So, they started to source locally but they still ran into quality issues. This hurt their brand in China.

So, they slowed down their expansion, waited until they could get enough chicken that met their core brand essence of very tasty chicken delivered in a very convenient way, and then they fixed the problem. Now they’re fine. They have more KFCs in China than we do in America. KFC is the largest fast-food chain in the mainland.

Jim: I understand you’re working on the second edition of your textbook. The first edition came out in 2013. What’s changed in the world since then that impacts what you’re covering in your new edition?

Dan: Digital has fundamentally changed. Look at social. Facebook is for people in their 40s and 50s. Twitter isn’t used by my incoming undergrads. There’s Snapchat, and other emerging platforms that are becoming more and more important. Businesses have to pay attention to these platforms.

Also, globally, in less and least developed markets, there’s the continued boom in mobile activity and data usage. I was just looking at a McKinsey report yesterday that was showing the increased amount of data being used and how that impacts business. For a marketer, it impacts how consumers get access to messages, and how people consume products.

Also, mobile is going to be the primary way to target consumers 35 and under. It’s going to be the primary way they access your website.

And lastly, you see this growth in consumption out of China and India. I was just in Uganda and Rwanda in December. I saw the growth in Africa, in Sub-Saharan Africa particularly: those countries that are economically and politically stable. Goldman Sachs predicts that in the next decade, Africa will have the most rapid growth of any continent.

Jim: What you think about the concept of hyper-personalization and the idea that you could be marketing to a segment that’s as granular as a single person? Do you see this as a real trend, a real possibility, and how would the practice of international marketing change in such a scenario?

Dan: The micro-targeting stuff I find really interesting. You’ll see individual-level marketing, and that has to do with the amount of data that you have at the individual level, and as that increases and the costs of actually marketing to one person decrease, you could certainly envision a world in which businesses can market to one person.

People talk about the day when you will get completely adapted, completely individualized messages. I always assume that it’s 10,000 messages that all look the same for 10,000 people who are very, very similar, but you could see individualization happening. I think it’s a little overstated to say it’s happening a lot right now, but I think that’s where the trend is going.

Lee: We are very interested in AI and I’ve been reading that AI can help with micro-targeting. What would you say about that?

Dan: We did a project with our MBA students with Comcast that related to their AI work. I think it’s incredibly powerful, and also a little bit terrifying. You talk about the cost of marketing to someone, and that plus the increased amount of data—those two things will eventually overlap.

AI has the most potential of causing that overlap because it would be both input and output; it would be tracking all that consumption data, all that activity that you’re doing online, geo-targeting…all that various data would be input into an AI platform. It will be core to improving customer experiences, and that’s why Comcast is spending so much energy and money around AI. They know that they have a customer experience gap and they want to close it. AI can be a powerful tool to do that. I think all of marketing will be influenced by AI soon.

But AI is a buzzword. Buzzwords are such a problem within marketing. Companies want that buzzword and they don’t realize what it is and they don’t care about cost.

 

Watch this space as Moravia continues the conversation with Dan and other industry experts on global digital marketing.

 

See more about Dan Baack here, and information on his book here.

baack-daniel-214x300.jpg