案例:喜达屋、Booking 和 Electronic arts 是如何利用数据帮助本地化决策的
Share
Click here to close
Click here to close
Subscribe here

案例:喜达屋、Booking 和 Electronic arts 是如何利用数据帮助本地化决策的

案例:喜达屋、Booking 和 Electronic arts 是如何利用数据帮助本地化决策的

根据数据.jpg

您应该翻译多少内容? 应该针对哪些地区调整您的内容? 应该优先翻译哪些语言? 随着公司进军全球市场,营销经理越来越频繁地需要做出这些本地化决策。

当然,预算会在很大程度上影响您的决策,但并不能帮您决定更多细节上的问题。那么,您应该靠什么来决定细节问题呢? 答案就是:数据。在这篇博文中,我们将通过三个公司的案例来了解他们如何使用不同类型的数据决定要对哪些内容进行本地化,要对多少内容进行本地化,以及本地化的目标受众是谁。这几个案例来源于在巴塞罗那举办的上一届 LocWorld 大会。在大会的研讨会中,Moravia 的解决方案部门总监 Erik Vogt 以专家身份参与了讨论。

销售数据有助于决定优先哪些目标语言

对于旅游和酒店行业的公司,为自身的全球网站选择内容和语言通常会产生问题。名义上,这些实体都是全球公司。但这是否意味着他们就能将内容自动翻译成多种语言呢? 这既不现实,也没有必要。

那么,哪些因素决定着酒店业公司的翻译决策呢? 喜达屋酒店的全球化高级总监 Benjamin Esch 向我们介绍,他所在的公司如何通过数学解决方案来解决这一问题:将密苏里州堪萨斯市一家酒店两年间的收入与在市场一级提供翻译内容(例如法语翻译)所需的长期费用进行对比。

Starwood-ch.png

喜达屋酒店根据其销售数据判断,公司在哪些语言上可能投入过多,例如日语。资料来源:Localization World 和喜达屋酒店。

喜达屋酒店发现,为部分酒店投入的翻译费用获得了较高的回报,但他们并未涵盖住客使用的某些语言。公司发现,这使他们错失了为现有住客提供更佳服务的机会,同时还让竞争对手有可乘之机,让他们乘机抢走客源。

例如,旧金山酒店的日语翻译带来了高达翻译成本 42 倍的收入,而达拉斯酒店的日语翻译在投资回报率方面却表现极差。对于这个城市,比较合理的做法应该是将投入到日语翻译的资金投入到投资回报率更高的其他语言。

借助此类数据,本地化团队不仅了解到翻译带来的益处(例如旧金山酒店的情况),还深入探索了如何更好地利用本地化预算,以及应该将预算用在何处。喜达屋酒店重新评估了他们早先的翻译策略,也就是将所有酒店的网页都翻译成法语、德语、日语和西班牙语这四种语言,而未考虑每种语言的投资回报率如何。最终,公司削减了某些情况下对特定语言的投资,并将节省下来的资金投入到效果较为理想的语言上。

转变运营方式后,喜达屋酒店在翻译方面投入了 600,000 美元,而更多客流则带来了约 4599 万美元的收益。

对于本地化团队而言,他们还有额外收获,那就是从原来的纯运营模式转变为了策略模式。也就是说,本地化团队可根据他们从数据中获得的洞察信息,全权掌控本地化决策,并向其他业务部门展示他们可在全球化进程中扮演的角色。

Booking.com: 网站流量数据可作为语言选择依据

参加研讨会的另一家旅游公司是 Booking.com,与会代表是公司的翻译和内容部门总监 Chris Dell。缤客网的资源库中共有超过 40 种语言,堪称全球化内容的楷模。但是,这家领先的在线旅游中介平台是如何判断应该将内容翻译成哪些语言的呢?

方法很简单:使用自己的网站分析数据。一开始,酒店的相关内容可能仅提供英语版本。当来自某个国家或地区的网站访问人数超过预设的限值时,缤客网就会启动翻译流程。他们使用的另一项在线数据就是浏览器语言选项。

在之前的博客中,我们介绍过如何利用网站分析来选择语言。对于缤客网来说,由于这些分析数据非常容易从网站收集,因此落实起来也十分容易。不过,缤客网也会考虑本地团队的反馈、营销调研结论和发展潜力。

Electronic Arts: 根据玩家行为数据决定需要翻译的内容量

Mario Bergantiños 是 Electronic Arts 的音频和视频本地化高级经理,他介绍了自己所在的公司如何根据用户所使用的具体功能来决定必须为某个地区提供的本地化内容数量。例如,法国有多少玩家会使用 FIFA 这一全球热门体育视频游戏中的故事模式? 

由于玩家随时随地都在线,游戏行业发生了变化,游戏本地化的方式也同样发生了转变。本地化流程更为灵活、循序渐进,并采用按需生产的方式。但如果要按时翻译所有内容,这不仅不可能,而且也根本没必要。对于某些庞大的游戏,总字数可能比霍比特人的字数还要多。在这种情况下,研究用户或玩家行为就能帮上大忙。 玩家行为数据可与销售数据和成本策略综合运用。EA 还会使用旁白数据。

智能数据,造就明智决策

刚才的三个案例都有以下亮点:

  • 明智的全球化公司不再盲目地急于求成,
  • 而是会根据数据来制定本地化策略。(通过这种方式,他们就能轻松实现投资回报率提升,而不再仅仅依靠本地化宣传。)
  • 利用数据做出本地化决策的一个原因就是,要翻译的内容太多,而需要翻译的目标语言数量又与日俱增。您无法做到面面俱到,因此肯定要放弃某些内容或语言。 

一直以来,我们都在探讨为什么要将数据作为本地化的决策依据。但我们也知道,并不是每家公司都能轻松获取数据或是合理解析数据。您需要选择要追踪的具体指标,特别是当您已不仅仅是利用数据来选择语言,而是要了解这些翻译的效果如何时,更是如此。

但更重要的是,全公司上下都应该了解本地化和全球化发展之间的联系。除此以外,关键就在于合理使用工具,获得最佳效果。

Using Data to Make Localization Decisions

Using Data to Make Localization Decisions

Using Data to Make Localization Decisions

Data Driven Localization

How much should you translate? For which locales should you adapt your content? Which languages should you prioritize? These localization decisions appear with increasing frequency on a marketing manager’s radar as a company goes global.

Of course, budget influences the decision in a big way, but it doesn’t help you with the finer details. What does, then? The answer is data. In this post, we present stories of three companies that use different types of data to help them understand what, how much, when, and for whom to localize. These stories come from a panel discussion at the last LocWorld conference in Barcelona, in which Moravia’s Erik Vogt, our Director of Solutions, participated as one of the panelists.

Sales data can help prioritize languages

For travel and hospitality companies, selecting content and languages for their global sites is all too common a problem. By definition, these entities are global. But does that mean they automatically translate into a zillion languages? That’s as much unrealistic as it is unnecessary.

What, then, guides hotel companies’ translation choices? Benjamin Esch, Globalization Senior Supervisor at Starwood Hotels, explained how his company came up with a mathematical solution to the problem: weighing revenue over a two-year span versus calculating the full ongoing cost of translation at the market level, such as of French translation for a hotel in Kansas City, Missouri.

Return on investment for Japanese translation

Starwood Hotels used its sales data to understand where it may be over-investing in some languages, such as with Japanese. Source: Localization World and Starwood Hotels.

What Starwood found was that while translation investments for some properties were seeing really high returns, some languages spoken by their customers were missing. This, the company identified, was a missed opportunity to better serve existing customers. It was also leaving the door open for competitors to come in and steal their customers away.

For instance, Japanese translations for San Francisco properties were earning revenue that was 42 times’ their cost, whereas Japanese translations for Dallas did not deliver a good Return on Investment (ROI) at all. In that city, the investment in Japanese was at the cost of a language that could have done much better.

Such data helped the localization team not only show off the benefits of translation (like in the case of the San Francisco properties), but also gain insight into how and where their localization budget could be better spent. Starwood revisited their earlier strategy of translating all of their properties into a fixed set of four languages—French, German, Japanese, and Spanish—irrespective of how they performed. As a result, the company cut back on these languages in several instances and reinvested the resulting savings in languages that showed promise.

With this switch in modus operandi, Starwood invested $600,000 in translation and stood to gain about $45 million from additional guests.

There’s another inherent gain in this for the localization team: they get to move from a purely operational mode to a strategic one. That is, thanks to their data-derived knowledge, the team can assume leadership over localization decisions and make other business groups see the role they can potentially play in globalization.

Website traffic data can guide language selection

The other travel company on the panel, Booking.com, was represented by Chris Dell, Director of Translations and Content. With over 40 languages in their repertoire, Booking takes their global content seriously. But how does this leading online travel agency know into which languages they must translate?

Simple: they use their website analytics data. Initially, the content for a hotel may be available only in English. When the quantity of website visitors from a particular country or locale exceeds a pre-set threshold, Booking goes into translation drive. The other piece of online data they use is browser language choice.

We have written before on how using website analytics is a great way to select languages. For Booking, these analytics are easier to implement given their predominantly online existence. However, Booking also considers feedback from local teams, market research, and potential for growth.

Player behavior data can determine volume of content

Mario Bergantiños, Audio and Video Localization Senior Manager at Electronic Arts, shared how his company studied feature use to determine the amount of content they must make available for a particular locale. For instance, how many players in France use story mode in FIFA, one of the most popular sports video games globally? 

With always-on, always-connected players, gaming has changed—and so has the way it’s localized. It’s more agile, incremental, and on-demand. But translating all of the content in time—for some humongous games, the total word count may exceed that of The Hobbit—may simply be impossible or even unnecessary. This is where studying user or player behavior helps. Player behavior data is used on top of sales data and cost considerations. EA also uses voiceover data.

Smart data can yield smart decisions

A few things stand out from the three case studies above:

  • Smart, global companies aren’t rushing into localization blind anymore.
  • Instead, they use data to build the case for localization. (This way, they have the usual ROI argument sorted already. Goodbye, localization pitch!)
  • One of the reasons to use data for making localization decisions is that there’s simply too much content out there and an ever-growing number of languages that you need to translate into. You can’t be everything to everyone, so just drop the idea. 

We have long talked about why data should be used to drive localization. But we also recognize that it’s not easy for every company to easily harvest this data or make sense of it. You need to identify the right metrics to track, especially as you move into not just using the data to select languages, but also understanding how those translations are performing.

But more than anything else, a company-wide understanding of the connection between localization and global growth is required. Everything else is a matter of playing with the tools.

{{cta(‘7e443579-9e40-4220-aea2-f972e179c660’)}}