破解本地化行业潜规则系列之:办公场所遍布全球有何意义?
Share
Click here to close
Click here to close
Subscribe here

破解本地化行业潜规则系列之:办公场所遍布全球有何意义?

破解本地化行业潜规则系列之:办公场所遍布全球有何意义?

global office.jpg

因为工作需要,我有幸与 Moravia 的众多客户都打过交道。这意味着,有时我的沟通对象是比我经验丰富得多的本地化“老手”,有时则是仍在费力理解本地化行业的营销经理“新手”。在与规模各异、行业经验深浅不一的客户进行沟通时,我发现了一个问题,那就是在互动过程中难免会用到某些术语或概念,大家要么会经常用错,要么就是对其一知半解。

对于正在挑选语言服务供应商(LSP)的客户来说,面对来自语言供应商的销售经理,如何跳过PPT的光鲜,真正弄清楚这些行业概念,问题如何问得切中要害,符合自己的需求?

在本系列博文中,我们将探讨构成客户和供应商常用行业概念的一些表述,以及语言服务供应商(以下简称“LSP”)经常会用到的一些词语。需要指出的是,我们将要探讨的内容并不只是某家 LSP 所特有的问题,我们并不想贬低同行,抬高自己(实际上,我自己也经常会用错这些词语)。 

 

当 LSP 跟你说

“我们在全世界23个国家/地区都设有办事处。”

LSP 真正想表达的意思是

“…其中两个办事处是位于中国和波兰的生产中心,我们 90% 的工作都在那里完成。其他 21 个办事处实际上是在家办公的远程员工,多数都是销售人员。”

 

揭秘其中的“潜规则”

制作本地化提案时,一个经久不衰的 PowerPoint 幻灯片“小把戏”就是在上面用五颜六色的小点标注公司在全球各地战略部署的多个办事处,以此展现公司的全球化特点。对于 MLV(多语言服务供应商)来说,这种做法尤其常见,因为我们可以借机展现公司的全球影响力和全球资源,进而证明我们有能力满足客户的任何需求。

看上去这可能非常了不起,但实际上,在与客户交谈时,这与他们的具体需求并没什么太大关系。本质上,最为关键的信息总结下来就是:翻译位于何处,在哪里完成项目管理工程任务,以及主要联系人位于何处。

最起码也一定要明确,翻译都分布在哪些地方。九成翻译都与 LSP 签订了合约,或是采用自由职业的工作方式。如果是规模比较大的 MLV,他们可能还会与擅长专业领域的 SLV(单语言供应商)合作。

 

位置、位置、位置

对于语言专家来说,组织结构其实并没有位置那么重要。这是因为,你需要语言专家居住在所翻译语言的目标市场(当然,也有例外情况,但本文暂不讨论这种例外情况)。

居住在相应国家/地区的语言专家不仅对所在地区的语言习惯了如指掌,还能随时获悉该语言的最新语言趋势,而相比之下,过去 20 年间一直居住在美国的乌克兰译者可能就不具备这方面的优势。同理,如果您的目标语言是墨西哥西班牙语,那么理想的译者所使用的语言就不应该是阿根廷西班牙语。

其次,LSP 项目管理团队的位置也不可小觑,他们会直接与语言团队沟通合作,确保一切工作都按计划进行。因此,项目经理最好与语言专家居住在同一地区或离得比较近的地区。

随着本地化工作对速度和灵活性的要求越来越高,这一点变得尤其重要。越来越多的客户开始注重灵活性,因此一定要确保由真正意义上的全球项目经理和工程师网络为语言团队提供支持,这种跨时区协作可保证您的项目“全天候运作”。

 

关于时区你真正需要考虑的问题

相比于在全球有多少办公室,更重要的是你的项目的主管和联系人是否能够在你的工作时间为你提供服务。他们不一定要在离您几百米远的地方办公(当然这样也有不少优势),但他们的时区最好能与您的时区有所重叠

例如,Moravia 的确有项目主管在美国办公(有时也的确是在距离客户办公室几百米远的地方),但位于南美的项目主管同样能够在美国的工作时间与客户轻松协作,取得了不错的效果。如果不需要去客户公司会面,那么这是一种非常值得借鉴的方式,因为这样可以节省在旧金山或纽约安排一名项目经理的高昂费用。

不过,刚才说的这些观点并不是要为大家提供“一刀切”式的解决方案。(温馨提示:如果哪家 LSP 跟您说,他们能够提供“一刀切”式的解决方案,您就应该提起警惕)。如果您的项目并不需要相关人员全都在您的时区内工作,您也可以将国外的项目主管安排在离生产团队较近的地方,这种做法同样大有裨益。您需要决定适合自己的解决方案。

 

问下面几个问题,才正中要害:

在面对语言供应商的销售时,您可以通过以下问题清楚了解 LSP 在全球的实际分布情况:

  • 时区会给我的项目生命周期带来怎样的影响?
  • 分配给我的项目的语言专家是否位于相应国家/地区?
  • 负责我的项目的项目经理和工程师都在哪里办公?
  • 你们打算如何确保跨时区的顺畅沟通?你们打算如何确保我的项目“全天候运作”(如有需要)?
  • 谁将担任我的主要联系人?他/她的工作时间是几点到几点?

What LSPs Say vs. Mean: Global Presence
Share
Click here to close
Click here to close
Subscribe here

What LSPs Say vs. Mean: Global Presence

What LSPs Say vs. Mean: Global Presence

Global Presence

In this blog series, we discuss terms and phrases often used by LSPs (language service providers) that form common industry parlance on both the buy and supply sides. Note that these are not specific to any LSP, nor is it our purpose to put down our peers and claim high ground (indeed, I am guilty of these myself more often than not).

Sometimes, some of these terms and phrases are so second nature or clichéd, that someone might use one without actually meaning it completely. This post hopes that you, the buyer, will stop when you hear one of these terms or phrases, ponder what is actually meant, and ask the right questions that will help you avoid any painful misunderstandings. Read our previous posts in this series on the use of “localization” and “SEO localization”.

What LSPs say

“We have offices in 23 countries worldwide.”

What LSPs mean

“… Two of these offices are production hubs in China and Poland, where we do 90% of the work. The other 21 offices are actually remote employees working from home, mostly sales people.”

Why it matters

One of the all-time favorite PowerPoint slides to include in any localization proposal is the classic “Global Presence” slide, with colorful little dots depicting numerous offices strategically placed around the globe. This seems particularly relevant for us MLVs (multi-language vendors), as it shows that we do indeed have the global presence, and therefore the global resources, necessary to manage any job you throw at us.

It may seem impressive, but in reality, when talking to a client it is largely irrelevant to their specific needs. Basically, the information that matters most boils down to where the translators are, where the project management and engineering are performed, and where the main point of contact is located.

At a minimum, it is important to clarify where the translators are based. In nine out of 10 cases, translators are contracted by LSPs or work on a freelance basis. In the case of a large MLV, they may additionally partner with specialized SLVs (single-language vendors).

Location, location, location

The structure is not as relevant as the location of the linguists, as you will want the linguists to be located in the target markets for which you are translating (and yes, I realize there are exceptions to this, but I’m keeping that outside the scope of this discussion).

Linguists who are in their respective countries will not only be familiar with the appropriate regional dialects, but will also be up-to-date on the latest linguistic trends for that language, as opposed to, say, a Ukrainian translator who has been living in the United States for the last 20 years. Similarly, if you want to translate into Mexican Spanish, the translator should ideally not be a speaker of Argentinian Spanish.

Next, the location of the LSP’s project management team also comes into play, because these are the people that are going to be working directly with the linguists to make sure that everything stays on track. Hence, project managers should preferably live in the same or proximate region as the linguists.

This becomes especially important when speed and flexibility are needed, as is usually the case. With the ever-increasing emphasis on agility, it is becoming more and more essential to make sure that linguists are supported by a truly global network of project managers and engineers who are able to cooperate across time zones to make sure your projects “follow the sun”.

Time zone considerations

Lastly, I cannot emphasize enough how extremely beneficial it is to have a project lead or some point of contact who is available during your business hours. This person doesn’t necessarily have to be located down the street from you (though that has its advantages, too), but they could be in an overlapping time zone.

For example, Moravia does indeed have project leads located in the United States (sometimes literally down the street from our clients), but also has success locating project leads in South America, where they can easily collaborate with clients during US business hours. If there is no need to meet onsite, then this is a good option to consider since it avoids the heavy costs associated with placing a project manager in San Francisco or New York.

None of these points are meant to suggest a one-size-fits-all solution, though. (Side note: if an LSP ever tells you that they have a one-size-fits-all solution, you should be seeing red flags). If your project requirements do not necessitate full coverage during your time zone, there are also advantages to having project leads located offshore closer to their production teams. You will have to decide what’s right for you.

Clarifying questions

Get clarity on an LSP’s global presence through the following questions:

  • How do time zones affect my project lifecycle?
  • Are the linguists assigned to my project located in-country?
  • Where are the project managers and engineers who will be working on my project, and what is the plan for ensuring seamless communication across time zones?
  • What is the plan to provide full “follow the sun” coverage (if needed)? 
  • Who will be my primary point of contact and what are his/her working hours?
 

Comments