收集多语言终端用户反馈的方法
Share
Click here to close
Click here to close
Subscribe here

收集多语言终端用户反馈的方法

收集多语言终端用户反馈的方法

userfeedback.jpg

显而易见,最终用户反馈是创新的源泉。每家公司都会绞尽脑汁,费尽心机去了解其客户对产品的好恶、意见和建议。

然而,如果您的企业已遍及全球,而您的客户群具多元文化背景、使用不同的语言,那么,要以可持续的方式收集他们的反馈并确保这些反馈能“物尽其用”就是一项挑战。语言服务提供商 (LSP) 可以在这方面帮上大忙,这或许是许多公司都没有意识到的。

为了探讨这一话题,我们对 Moravia 的语言服务总监 Katerina Gasova 进行了访谈。在 Katerina 的诸多工作职责中,其中一项就是管理语言服务经理团队,这支团队负责代表客户收集用户反馈。

本次访谈的内容如下(略加编辑):

Katerina,我的第一个问题是,客户为什么要请 LSP 帮他们收集最终用户反馈呢? 他们不能自己收集吗?

客户有能力自行收集用户反馈,许多公司也的确是这样做的。但由于具有全球影响力的 LSP 在这方面具备更多资源,所以对客户来说,请语言服务公司代为完成这项工作会更为轻松。LSP 对本土市场和客户产品较为熟悉,同时还了解抽样调查的工作原理和各个语言及文化。

尽管有些客户非常善于收集用户反馈的流程和方法,但仍有不少客户缺乏这方面的经验,需要 LSP 帮他们完成反馈收集工作。

LSP 通常会帮助客户收集哪些领域的最终用户反馈? 这些反馈仅仅与翻译相关,还是说与整个产品本地化有关?

通常而言,用户不会对产品的 翻译质量做出任何评论。 事实上,很多用户压根就不在乎翻译质量,这实际上是一种理想情况。我的意思是,只要产品上显示的语言让用户能够正常使用产品,他们就不会关注翻译质量如何。但是,当用户看不懂翻译,当翻译让用户感到困惑,当翻译听上去不自然的时候,也就是说,当语言成为障碍,或是未提供用户使用的语言时,才会引起用户的注意。

同理,无论是 LSP 还是客户自己去开展用户调查,都不能直接问用户,他们觉得这个词好还是那个词好,或是深入探究其他纯语言问题。但是,您可以通过提问让用户说明自己的用户体验:他们在不同控制按钮之间跳转时的体验如何,说明是否清晰明确,设计问题,等等。

尽管产品是由营销、开发、设计和本地化等公司内部的不同部门完成的,但用户看到的是整体产品。您提出的问题需要将整体用户观点纳入考虑范围。

有没有哪些行业比其他行业更倾向于使用翻译公司的服务?

大规模收集客户反馈需要投入不少资金。因此,通常都是一些规模比较大的高科技公司会请 LSP 来帮忙完成这项工作。毋庸置疑,每家公司都会通过某种方式来收集用户反馈,但只有一小部分公司会专门投入所需资源,以系统化的方式完成大规模反馈收集。

在某种程度上,这也体现了公司对用户反馈的重视程度。更为成熟的公司深知最终用户反馈的价值,也会在这方面不吝投资。此外,他们还会不断采用多语言社交反馈收集工具,去收集和分析用户在社交媒体上以多种语言分享的反馈。

从收到反馈到根据反馈更正问题或是推出新功能,一般需要多长时间?

对于这个问题,我只能就语言部分的相关反馈谈谈我的看法。通常而言,根据用户反馈做出的任何质量改进只能在产品的下一次发布中落实。当然,如果有极其重大的错误,也会立即更正。因此,虽然我们建立了反馈循环机制,并据此改进产品,但改进并不能立竿见影。

在收集最终用户反馈方面,您能否分享一些最佳方案?

为用户提供好用的工具,让他们能够轻松提供反馈。精心考虑用户体验的公司会投入资金建立质量计划。他们会建立门户网站,方便用户直接登录并提供关于产品的反馈。当用户发现您关注他们的反馈,并且可以轻松使用您提供的反馈工具,他们通常就会充满热情,为您提供深入的真知灼见,为整体产品开发提供帮助,甚至还会帮您宣传品牌

Why and How to Collect Multilingual End-User Feedback

Why and How to Collect Multilingual End-User Feedback

Why and How to Collect Multilingual End-User Feedback

Social_Listening_and_Multilingual_User_Feedback.jpg

End-user feedback is easily the lifeblood of innovation. Which company wouldn’t give its metaphorical right arm to know what its customers love about its product, what they hate, and everything in between?

Yet, when your business is global and your customers come from many cultures and speak different languages, collecting their feedback in a sustained, useful way is a challenge. Language service providers (LSPs) are often very helpful here, and this is something that perhaps many companies aren’t aware of.

To explore this topic, we spoke with Katerina Gasova, linguistic services director at Moravia. As part of her work, Katerina manages teams of linguistic services managers that collect user feedback on behalf of clients.

Here is a slightly edited version of the interview:

First off, Katerina, why do clients work with LSPs on eliciting end-user feedback? Can’t they do it on their own?

Clients can obtain user feedback on their own, and they do. It’s just easier for them to use language services companies for the job, for the simple reason that an LSP with global presence is better equipped to do it. They have the knowledge of the local market and of the product, an understanding of the ideal sample population, and of course, familiarity with individual languages and cultures.

While some clients are savvy and know how to go about obtaining their users’ comments, other clients still build their experience in this area and may seek an LSP’s help with it.

What are the typical areas an LSP helps with getting end-user feedback on? Is it only related to translation or product localization as a whole?

Users don’t look at the product and say, “Hey! This translation’s good.” In fact, they don’t even care about the translation, and that is actually the ideal situation. What I mean is that as long as language enables them to use the product without any hiccups, they don’t pay attention to it. But when the translation doesn’t make sense, when it confuses them, when it sounds unnatural — that is, when language becomes an issue or when their language is not available at all — only then does it catch the attention of users.

Similarly, whether it’s an LSP that’s handling the user survey or the client, you cannot be asking them questions about whether the use of this word was better versus another, or to drill down deep into other purely linguistic issues. But you can and need to ask them questions that will get them talking about their user experience: how they were able to navigate through the controls, whether the instructions were clear and helpful, questions on design, and so on.

Users see the product as a whole and not as a result of the work of separate teams in your company: marketing, development, design, or localization. Your questions need to take into account the overall user perspective.

Are there some industry verticals that tend to use translation companies’ services more than others in this respect?

Well, obtaining customer ratings on a large scale may be an expensive proposition. So, it’s usually the bigger, high-tech companies that go about doing it in an organized way. Of course, every company collects user feedback in some way or the other, but only a handful of companies set aside the resources required to do it systematically on a large scale.

To some extent, it’s also the premium the company places on user feedback. The more mature companies see the value of end-user feedback and invest in it. They also increasingly implement multilingual social listening tools that enable them to capture and analyze user feedback as shared in social media in a range of languages.

How quickly does this user feedback get incorporated into correcting things or introducing new features?

Here, I can comment on the feedback related to the linguistic part. Usually, any quality improvements arising out of user feedback can only be implemented in the next release of the product, unless there’s a show-stopper error, of course. So, while the feedback loop exists and is utilized to improve products, it’s not immediate.

Can you talk about some best practices to follow for collecting end-user evaluation?

Provide users with tools to make it really very easy for them to give feedback. The companies that are thoughtful about their end users invest money in building quality programs. They have portals where users can log in and leave feedback on their product. When users see that you care about their feedback and that they can use the provided feedback tool easily, you often see that they get really enthusiastic, provide you with truly deep insights that help your overall product development, and even become brand ambassadors.