网络安全和数据隐私

  • 网络安全

  • 数据隐私

网络安全是指保护计算机、服务、移动设备、电子系统、网络和数据免受恶意攻击的实践。网络犯罪并非新概念。日益增强的连接性、远程工作、对技术的依赖和自动化,这些都增加了攻击的风险。此外,疫情导致工作方式发生变化,为网络犯罪分子创造了更多的机会。 

RWS 深知,我们的网络安全防范能力必须不断提高,以应对不断变化的风险。 

RWS 的战略安全立场由信息安全指导委员会 (ISSC) 确定,该委员会由首席技术官担任主席,他/她是安全事宜的执行发起人。该团队包括来自所有部门和指定业务部门的相关方,他们将就信息安全管理系统 (ISMS) 的持续改进进行协作,还帮助推动我们的集成计划,提高意识并支持一致的基于风险的信息安全方法。此外,ISSC 还对信息安全风险进行监督和管理。 

RWS 正在采用 NIST 网络安全框架,为信息安全管理系统 (ISMS) 提供一个通俗易懂的结构,并统筹我们的工作。这帮助我们的托管产品解决方案、受监管行业部门、IP 服务部门及其支持服务、人员、流程和技术获得了全球认可的 ISO27001:2013 认证。RWS 的云运营和语言服务职能还持有 SOC2 证书。ISMS 提供了一个强大的基准,使 RWS 能够灵活地进一步开发必要的控制措施,以满足各种行业特定的信息安全合规要求(如果确定符合业务利益)。我们不断努力改进和扩大认证 ISMS 的范围,确保实施国际公认的信息安全控制措施并委托外部机构进行验证,使 RWS 和我们的客户受益。

我们认识到安全风险始终存在,因此在持续整合各项工作的过程中实施一系列信息安全策略至关重要,以为许多领域的所有 RWS 职能提供高级安全指导,包括但不限于:风险管理、物理安全、隐私和事故管理。他们制定了 RWS 支持业务目标的方法,同时确保采用一致的风险管理方法。 

根据已批准的策略和流程分析安全风险,可识别威胁,考量威胁发生的可能性,并评估它们对业务目标的任何潜在影响。这种结构化方法可为决策者提供信息,使他们能够确定缓解措施是否适当,如果适当,应如何开展。例如,停止活动,实施技术控制措施或更新流程以将风险降低到可接受水平。资产/风险负责人负责选择适当的缓解措施或控制措施,安全团队仅提供建议和指导。如果资产负责人无法妥善解决风险,可以将其上报至管理链的下一级。我们使用风险管理流程记录和管理安全风险,这项工作由首席财务官负责,并每年在董事会上汇报。 

RWS 采用“深度防御”的安全立场,并明白定期测试安全控制措施非常重要。因此,我们定期对内部和外部基础设施进行漏洞扫描,并应部分客户的要求,定期对面向公众的基础设施进行渗透测试。这样就可以识别漏洞,并对其进行分析,以确定最适当的缓解措施。 

英国的网络安全漏洞调查发现,83% 的企业在过去 12 个月内遭遇网络钓鱼攻击,这是最常见的攻击类型。RWS 也经常受到此类攻击,虽然我们的技术控制措施可以阻止大多数垃圾邮件和恶意邮件,但仍不可避免某些钓鱼邮件突破防御。我们意识到这可能是最薄弱的环节,因此我们维护并持续改进安全意识制度,为员工提供识别此类威胁所需的信息,从而降低风险。除了通过学习管理系统 MyLX 提供定期消息和安全意识培训外,RWS 还使用外部提供商提供安全培训、知识评估和测试,以确定可能需要额外培训的地方,跟踪培训的授课和参与情况,并测试其有效性。

我们承认实施网络防御费用不菲,但我们知道,我们必须继续提高防御能力,以支持业务发展。我们的安全路线图采用经济高效且平衡的持续改进方法,以提供适当的保护,确保我们的防御能力足以应付已知的威胁,但又不至于过度。例如,RWS 几乎完成了多因素认证 (MFA) 的实施,以便安全地访问我们的虚拟专用网络。此外,我们了解并非所有网络攻击都能被阻止,因此聘请了外部合作伙伴提供全天候检测和响应服务,以便尽快解决事故,从而充分降低对业务的影响。

RWS 确保我们遵守相关司法管辖区的数据保护法。RWS 的总部位于英国,采用欧盟 GDPR 和《2018 年英国数据保护法》作为数据保护基准。我们制定了一套全面的政策,反映适用的隐私法,并明确侧重于保护机密商业信息 (CBI) 和个人身份信息 (PII) 的流程、程序和实践。 

RWS 在设计上意识到客户对隐私的要求,因此在 RWS 软件中提供功能,使客户能够遵守数据保护法规定的义务。RWS 在提供本地化服务或通过 SaaS 授予软件许可证时将代表客户处理个人数据。客户收集数据并将其传输到 RWS 进行处理。客户数据在 RWS 环境中进行翻译、传输和存储,完成后将根据内部删除策略或客户的规定予以删除。 

同样,当 RWS 授予 Web 内容管理软件许可证时,客户将确定数据收集和保留的参数。RWS 根据与客户在保密协议、合同和数据处理协议中约定的指示处理客户数据。 

RWS 不代表客户对消费者客户进行详细的剖析。客户提供的数据绝不会被出售或出租。如果对于履行服务为必需,RWS 将与关联公司和经批准的第三方分包商披露数据;我们制定了适当的数据处理协议来管理这些传输。在 2020/21 财年,没有敏感信息(包括 PII 和 CBI)被披露或未经授权移动。因此,没有任何客户受到任何此类事件的影响。

Cyber Security and data privacy

  • Cyber security

  • Data privacy

Cyber security is the practice of defending computers, services, mobile devices, electronic systems, networks and data from malicious attacks. Cybercrime is not new. Increased connectivity, remote working, reliance on technology, and automation increases the risk of attack. Furthermore changes in ways of working driven by the pandemic have created more opportunities for cybercriminals. 

RWS understands that our cyber security preparedness must continue to evolve to address the changing risk. 

The strategic security posture for RWS is set by the Information Security Steering Committee (ISSC), chaired by the CTO who is the executive sponsor for security. This group includes stakeholders from all Divisions and selected business units to collaborate on the continual improvement of the Information Security Management System (ISMS) which also helps drive our integration program, increases awareness and supports a consistent risk based approach to information security. Furthermore, the ISSC provides oversight and governance of information security risks. 

RWS is adopting the NIST Cybersecurity framework to provide a commonly understood structure to our Information Security Management System (ISMS) and focus our efforts. This helped us achieve the globally recognised ISO27001:2013 certification for our hosted product solutions, Regulated Industries Division, IP Services Division and their supporting services, people, processes and technology. RWS also holds SOC2 certificates for its Cloud Operations and Language Services functions. The ISMS provides a robust baseline which gives RWS the agility to develop further the controls necessary to meet a variety of sector specific information security compliance requirements if identified as being in the business interest. Our ongoing work to improve and expand the scope of our certified ISMS ensures the implementation and external validation of internationally recognised information security controls which benefit both RWS and our customers.

Acknowledging that security risks will always exist, an important part of our ongoing integration efforts is the implementation of a suite of information security policies which will provide high level security guidance to all RWS functions in a number of areas including, but not limited to: Risk Management; Physical Security; Privacy, and Incident Management. They set out RWS’ approach to supporting business aims and objectives whilst ensuring a consistent approach to the management of risk. 

The analysis of security risks in accordance with approved policies and processes identifies threats, considers the likelihood of the threat materialising and assesses any potential impact on business objectives. This structured approach informs decision makers and allows them to identify whether mitigation is appropriate and if so, what form it should take. This could, for example, be to stop an activity, to implement technical controls or update processes which reduce the risk to an acceptable level. Selection of appropriate mitigating measures or controls are informed by advice and guidance from the security team but is the responsibility of the asset/risk owner. If the owner of an asset is unable to address the risk satisfactorily, it can be escalated to the next level in the management chain. Security risks are captured and managed through our risk management process which is the responsibility of our CFO, and shared with the Board annually. 

RWS employs ‘defence in depth’ in its security posture and understands that regular testing of its security controls is important. As such we routinely conduct vulnerability scanning of our internal and external infrastructure and, at the request of some of our clients, elements of our public facing infrastructure are subject to periodic penetration testing. This allows the identification of weaknesses which are analysed to determine the most appropriate mitigation to be applied. 

The UK’s Cyber Security Breaches Survey identified that 83% of businesses reported phishing attacks in the last 12 months, making it the most prevalent type of attack. RWS has also been regularly subjected to such attacks and whilst our technical controls block most spam and malicious messages, it is inevitable that some phishing emails get through. Because we realise this is likely to be the weakest link, we maintain and continually improve our security awareness regime to provide employees with the information necessary to identify such threats thereby reducing the risks. In addition to regular messaging and security awareness delivered through our learning management system, MyLX, RWS uses external providers to deliver security training, knowledge assessments, and testing, allowing us to identify where additional training may be needed, track its delivery and participation and test its effectiveness.

We acknowledge that the implementation of cyber defenses can be expensive but we know that we must continue to develop our resilience to support the business. Our security roadmap takes a cost effective and balanced approach to its continual improvement to provide appropriate protection so that our defenses are sufficient to meet known threats, but not excessive. As an example, RWS has almost completed the implementation of multi-factor authentication (MFA) to access our virtual private network. Furthermore we understand that not all cyber-attacks can be prevented and have engaged an external partner to provide a 24/7 detection and response capability to enable incidents to be addressed as soon as possible to minimise any business impact.

RWS ensures it complies with the relevant jurisdictional data protection legislation. Headquartered in the UK, RWS has adopted the EU GDPR and UK Data Protection Act 2018 as its benchmark for data protection. We have a comprehensive set of policies which reflect the applicable privacy legislation and identify processes, procedures and practices focused on the protection of confidential business information (CBI) and personally identifiable information (PII). 

RWS, being cognisant of the requirement for privacy by design, provides functionality within RWS software to enable clients to comply with their obligations under data protection law. RWS processes personal data on behalf of clients when providing localisation services or when licensing our software via SaaS. Our clients collect the data and transfer it to RWS to process. Client data is translated, transmitted and stored within the RWS environment and on completion is deleted in accordance with internal deletion policies or as specified by the client. 

Similarly, when RWS licenses web content management software, the client determines the parameters of data collection and retention. RWS processes client data in accordance with instructions agreed with clients in non-disclosure agreements, contracts and data processing agreements. 

RWS does not undertake detailed profiling of consumer clients on behalf of clients. Data provided by clients is never sold or rented. As required to perform the services, RWS will disclose data between affiliate companies and approved third party sub-contractors; Appropriate data processing agreements are in place to govern these transfers. In FY20/21 there have been no disclosures or unauthorised movement of sensitive information including PII and CBI. As a result, no clients have been affected by any such incidents.